ACCEPTANCE TIMELINE -PREPARING FOR MY PHONE INTERVIEW

  • January 23rd: Application submitted
  • January 24th: Web based interview
  • January 30th: phone interview
  • February 13th: CONGRATULATIONS!

MY WORK BACKGORUND

Here’s a copy of my disney-resume if you care to look at the one I uploaded or need a few ideas to make your own.

In short, my first job is still the one I hold today; I have worked there for 7 years (help me) and worked my way from a busser to the supervisor of the restaurant. The restaurant is located in a children’s amusement park called Dutch Wonderland. I have also served at a higher end restaurant, work at Lowes, interned at a vet clinic as well as a hospital for physical therapy, been the vice president of two clubs at school, babysit and conduct research for my university.

I knew that during my interview I wanted to make it clear that I was not foreign to hard work. There are summers where I’ve worked 1 job for 40 hours per week and more recent summers where I have juggled 3 jobs for 60-80 hours per week. I wanted my interviewer to know that I had experience doing both the glamorous and unglamorous jobs and I wanted them to know that I was not above doing anything. I wanted to make these things clear because as a supervisor these are traits I look for in my employees and knew that Disney looked for similar traits.

FUTURE GOALS

I graduated with a bachelors degree in Exercise Science and a minor in Biology in December 2016 with the goal of (eventually) continuing my education to one day become a Doctor of Physical Therapy. When choosing roles I tried to keep in mind what could best help set me up for success. So while I had the most experience in food and beverage, (and this had been my top choice in 2014), I now had different aspirations and needed to prepare myself for my future career and goals.

TOP 3 ROLES

  1. Lifeguard
  2. Front Desk
  3. Children’s Activities

Lifeguard: Because of my degree I really really really wanted to be a lifeguard. This role was the closest to my dream of being a physical therapist (which was still not a direct connection). I got extremely excited while researching for this role, Disney has such high expectations for their cast members (CM) and to be a lifeguard would have been such an honor.

Front Desk: This role was my guilty pleasure role. As a supervisor of a restaurant my favorite thing is assisting and accomadating guests who are happy, confused, disgruntled, and even angry. I love being able to take a situation and enhance it if they are already happy or turn it around and if they had been angry. I even thought this role would be perfect to become a PT as you can never have too much experience in guest interaction.

Children’s Activities: This role may seem like it is completely not me since I dislike children and never want to have any, however, I honestly thought this would be such a fun and cute role to have. I know it totally doesn’t make sense.

RESEARCH

I did an extensive amount of research preparing for my phone interview. I knew this was the step that would make or break me. Through my resume in the initial application to my answers from the WBI I knew I looked good on paper but now I had to convince a Disney CM that I was the right option for the program. Keep in mind that thousands of students apply, I’ve heard numbers from 60,000 to over 100,000 and usually only 12,000 students get accepted.

Here are all the questions I had prepared for with my answers ( PI Study Guide ). Please keep in mind that you should change the answers to fit you, Disney wants students who are genuine.


**TIPS**

  • Write down interviewers name
    • Use their name in conversation but not excessively
  • Sit in front of a mirror
    • Looking into a mirror while you do your PI will help you smile (your voice changes when you smile and can be heard) your interviewer will know if you’re happy or not
  • Always say “yes ma’am / sir”
  • Instead of saying “yes” say “absolutely” or “of course”
  • Know the reasons you are good for each role, even those of low interest
  • BE EXCITED!
  • Youtube recent PI’s from the season or year before.
    • Disney changes their questions frequently so you want to make sure you have the most up to date info
  • Have a friend hold a mock interview with you
    • If you don’t want to ask anyone to help you practice saying your answers out loud, things can sound a lot different in person rather than being read off a page
  • Have a list of things you want your interviewer to know about you
    • These are usually strong traits like hard worker, reliable, open minded etc.
    • For me this was that I am used to hard work and accustomed to unglamorous jobs and shifts lasting up to 16 hours.
  • Tell your interviewer to have a magical day at the end of your interview

Study a week in advance. If you are adamant about doing the DCP DO NOT try and wing the PI. Only when I felt as if I had enough questions I practiced mock interviews with Emily a few days out. This was extremely helpful as she would take notes and tell me what worked and what didn’t.

** My notes I referenced during my PI:

 

Leave a Reply

