BLOGGING AT DISNEY

86 DAYS UNTIL DISNEY!

IMG_3277



 

As you may already be able to tell, I am super excited about documenting my upcoming trip to Disney through this blog. It’s going to give me a great place to store all my photos and allow friends and family to check out what I’m doing without having to send out a million different texts. I also hope it can help others out as well, when coming into the DCP I had done so much research but still had questions, I hope by (excessively) blogging like I have been through every step and process you’ll be better to understand what the DCP is really like!


WHAT IT TAKES

The writing process is different for everyone but for me it takes about 2-3 hours to write one blog. This may seem excessive but this also includes one draft, revisions, uploading photos, tagging, and organizing. I grew up with a Father who taught English so I have been trained to never edit a paper less than 3 times. Here is a look at my process:

  • Daydream during work and jot down blog idea on phone
  • Add to draft list on Blog
  • create bullets of all the points I want to touch on
  • convert each bullet into a word-vomit paragraph (first draft)
    • basically, just write down anything and everything that comes to mind about selected topic
  • revise each word-vomit paragrapgh into something that makes sense (1st edit)
  • rearrange paragrapghs into order that flows (2nd edit while rereading)
  • upload any photos to accompany blog
  • Tag blog
  • Take a break and/or start bullets for another blog
  • Come back to original blog at least 1 hour later to reread (3rd edit)
  • Publish blog and/or schedule blog to be published at a later time
    • I usually schedule one to be published at a later time if I’ve already uploaded a blog for the week or on the rare chance I finish two blogs in one day

All in all, if I work on one post from beginning to end without stopping it’ll probably only take me 2 hours. That third hour is if I’m in the writing zen and am able to push out another blog with 2 drafts.

Then, of course there are the days I have writters block and I’ll bounce back and forth between 4 or 5 different blogs because I can’t get into the groove with any of them. These days are hard because if it’s the only time that week I have a chance to write, then there’s added pressure to produce something. This is also when a short amount of time is worse, if I’ve finished getting ready for work and I have an extra 30-45 minutes to kill I’ll try to write but I’m never able to fully get into in since I keep looking at the clock to make sure I leave on time for my shift.

Between my job and internship I am currently working 60-65 hours per week. When my internship is over I’ll focus on working and go back to my second job where I’ll then be working 70-80 hour weeks. Not joking.  This is why I’m nervous about dinsey because it’ll give me one less month to make and hoard money like I’m used to and I’ll only be working 40 hoursish weeks in Florida. But money budgeting will be a different blog.


I try to keep all of this in mind so that I can be realistic with how frequently I will send blogs out. I just finished my month of hell where I worked 60 hours a week at my job and during the time I wasn’t there I was putting in 15 hours a week at my internship. That is finally done so I am hoping to get blogs out more often now. I hope this will set me up for blogging at Disney because even though I’ll be working less (35-45 hours per week) all of my free time will be spent exploring the parks or Florida which will probably equal what I’m putting into work now.

I know at the very least this will be a place for me to upload photos and store all of my memories here; it is also my hope that if I can’t write a blog each week I can upload photos and write a blog to accompany it at a later time.


VLOGGING?

To vlog or not to vlog?

I think vlogging would be pretty awesome. You can check out some of the CMs I follow on Youtube here , but I love watching all their vlogs and it helps me stay sane during my wait to Disney. It’s just one of those things where I don’t know if I would be good at it. I’ve also done some research and for someone to make a good vlog they can spend up to 3 hours editing it. That’s time that could be spent taking a night trip to Universal or resort hopping with friends. I also don’t want to live my life behind a camera always obsessing over the fact that maybe I should be videoing this.

IDK, I also think I may take short videos and piece them together with either music or a voice over after my program. It all depends.

The one thing I want to make sure of during my program is that I live every moment. And if I find that blogging or vlogging are taking too much away from that I wont kill myself to try and get them out.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

